Skip to content

Caricature Studies (Ricky Gervais)

I recently made a list of celebrities to caricature so I could start to build a portfolio of recognizable faces.  I’ve always been a big fan of Ricky’s since I first saw the original, BBC version of  The Office.  He was such an unlikeable character in that series that I couldn’t even look at the screen when he was embarrassing himself.

While I’m fairly satisfied with this sketch of Ricky, I don’t feel that I quite captured his over-the-top, high pitched laugh.  I also feel that this works as more of a portrait then a caricature as I didn’t really exaggerate many of his features.  I found that as I tried to play with the proportions of his face I would lose his likeness, it’s something I’ll have to work on.

Categories: Caricatures, Sketches
Posted by Gerry D on October 19, 2010
2 Comments Post a comment
  1. 10/24/2010

    Awesome! Love the blog, keep posting 🙂 Great stuff.

    Reply
  2. 06/30/2011
    Tony

    I’ve seen a similar drawing.. of Wolverine though 😛

    Reply

Leave a comment

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Comments Feed

